Today, North Warnborough consists of a conservation area, bounded by Mill Corner in the north and The Street in the south, lying to each side of the B3349 Reading to Alton road. Most of the village’s listed buildings lie within the conservation area. There are also later housing developments with post-war housing beyond the southern boundary of the conservation area to the Odiham boundary and also in the Old Orchard.
Held by King Harold before the Norman invasion of 1066, North Warnborough and Odiham had become a royal burgh by 1086. Half-way between Winchester and Windsor, the Saxon kings maintained a palace and lodgings in Odiham. By 1207 work had begun on King John’s castle in 20 acres of meadowland at North Warnborough, the ruins of which stand by the canal, itself a site of special scientific interest and a unique conservation area.
Near the canal lies North Warnborough Green, another SSI, including a ford where children often swim during the summer months. The village once boasted two mills and seven pubs. Some of the pubs were converted into private homes, but The Lord Derby, The Jolly Miller, The Anchor and The Swan still remain and the Old Mill is now a popular family restaurant.
For further information about North Warnborough and the surrounding area, or to enquire about property for sale or to rent in North Warnborough please contact the local office: Hartley Wintney Office 01252 844015 firstname.lastname@example.org or Hook Office 01256 764666 or email@example.com. Lettings 01522 514000 or firstname.lastname@example.org.