Whilst there is absolutely no doubt that Brexit has created a degree of uncertainty in the housing market, the reality is that in terms of value for money, property prices have not been as attractive as they currently are for some time now.

As New Homes are currently offered with the benefit of Help to Buy (up to a value of £600,000) and the private housing market is unable to match this incentive, accurate pricing is crucial to attract the many buyers who remain confident in their purchase goals, despite the current climate.

There is absolutely no doubt that house price inflation just isn’t on the agenda currently or, in my view, likely to be in the near future. In reality, for anyone moving upmarket, the good news is that the gap between the sale and purchase price isn’t increasing. Equally, I do understand and appreciate that, for anyone looking to downsize the gamble is more about whether prices will remain consistent.

Having spent the last four decades in the housing market, I recognise that whilst buying a home is largely an emotional decision, value for money plays a bit part. If they are uncertain as to whether they are getting value for money and the price is unrealistic, the reality is they will look elsewhere. This is when a seller is exposed to the most risk.

For an up-to-date and accurate valuation of your home, please contact your local branch. 

Ash Vale – ashvale@mackenziesmith.co.uk  – 01252 353030

Farnborough – farnborough@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01252 375999

Fleet – fleet@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01252 812121

Hook – hook@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01256 764666

Hartley Wintney – hartleywintney@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01252 844015

Yateley – yateley@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01252 597900

Lettings – lettings@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01252 514000

Land – land@mackenziesmith.co.uk – 01252 597765